Two New Honorary Research Fellows appointed at SPERI

We are very pleased that Arianna Giovannini and Daniela Gabor have been made Honorary Research Fellows at SPERI, thereby bringing the number of SPERI Honorary Research Fellows to eight.

Ariana GiovanniniArianna Giovannini is a Lecturer in Local Politics at De Montfort University (DMU) where she is also a member of the Local Governance Research Unit (LGRU) and the Centre for Urban Research and Austerity (CURA). Before joining DMU in August 2016, she was a Research Officer at SPERI, working on our joint ‘Diverging Capitalisms’ project with Policy Network and FEPS. Her research focuses on devolution and constitutional change, with a continuing emphasis on the politics and political economy of the  ‘English Question’ and the particular case of northern England.
Daniela-Gabor-120nDaniela Gabor is a Professor in Economics and Macro-finance at the University of the West of England, Bristol. Her research focuses on shadow banking activities, in particular ‘repo’ markets and their implications for monetary theory, central banking, sovereign bond markets and regulatory activity. Her current research projects include Managing Shadow Money (funded by INET) and the Capital Markets Union (funded by FEPS). Her research develops the theme of transnational banks’ involvement in policy deliberations around capital controls and crisis management in both global settings and in emerging markets.

Arianna’s and Daniela’s areas of research are central to SPERI’s ongoing research agenda and we look forward to future collaborations.